Xavier Musketeers men’s basketball

The Xavier Musketeers men’s basketball Group Reflects Xavier University in Cincinnati, Ohio.

The faculty’s team now competes in the Big East Conference. Of all Division I programs yet to make a last 4, Xavier gets the most all-time tournament wins with 27. Xavier has emerged in the NCAA Championship 27 times, 15 times in the last 17 years. On March 11, 2018, Xavier earned its first ever No. 1 seed for the NCAA Tournament.
Xavier won four Atlantic 10 Tournament Championships (1998, 2002, 2004 and 2006). Xavier has won or shared 17 regular season conference championships, while winning 9 conference tournament championships. In addition, they’ve won one Big East Conference regular season title in 2018.
Xavier has been recorded one of the top-20 most valuable college basketball programs in america.
The very first Xavier Basketball game on record was February 20, 1920 at the Fenwick Club in Cincinnati. Coached by Joe Meyer, the Musketeers compiled a 94–52 record during Meyer’s’s 13-year conduct as head trainer from 1920 to 1933. The Musketeer’s success lasted under second head coach Clem Crowe. Throughout Crowe’s 10 years since Xavier head coach, Xavier compiled a listing of 96–78. Crowe’s 96 wins as a head trainer rank fourth all time among Xavier head trainers. [5] Following the 1942–43 season, play has been suspended for the subsequent two seasons because of World War II. In 1945, the program resumed under the direction of head coach Ed Burns. In his one season as head coach, Burns compiled a record of 3–16.
In 1946, Burns was replaced by Lew Hirt. Under Hirt, the Musketeers first postseason appearance was at the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) during the 1948 NAIA National Basketball Tournament, the national championship for small colleges. Xavier finished in 4th place, dropping to Hamline University at the national third-place game, 58–59. 1948 was the only season Xavier appeared in the NAIA Tournament.
Back in 1951, Hirt was replaced as head coach by Ned Wulk. Wulk guided the Musketeers into National Invitational Tournament appearances in 1956 and 1957. The 1956 appearance marked Xavier’s first NIT win, an 84–80 victory over Saint Louis.
After a loss to Bradley from the 1957 NIT, Wulk was replaced as head coach by Jim McCafferty. McCafferty headed the Musketeers back into some third straight NIT at 1958. With wins over Niagara, Bradley, St. Bonaventure and Dayton, Xavier seized the NIT. This was the very first postseason championship obtained by any Ohio Division I college.
In 1961, McCafferty led Xavier for their original appearance in the NCAA Men’s Division I Basketball Tournament. On March 14, 1961, Xavier fell to Morehead State in the Kentucky State Fairgrounds in Louisville, Kentucky.
McCafferty has been replaced as head coach in 1963. He would be accompanied by Don Ruberg (1963–67), George Krajack (1967–71), Dick Campbell (1971–73) and Tay Baker (1973–79).
Back in 1979, Xavier was among those charter members of this Midwestern City Conference (known as the MCC or Midwestern City , and currently known as the Horizon League), which also comprised Butler, Evansville, Loyola (Chicago), Oklahoma City, and Oral Roberts. That year also marked the hiring of head coach Bob Staak, who compiled an 88–86 record during his six seasons as head coach, including a return to both the NCAA Tournament and NIT.

Read more: dallassportsrant.com

vereventsXavier Musketeers men’s basketball

Deja un comentario

Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada. Los campos obligatorios están marcados con *